The Ministry of Foreign and Diaspora Affairs has the primary responsibility to advise on, facilitate the execution of, and steer the foreign policy of Kenya on behalf of the President. Like in many other countries across the world, Kenya’s foreign policy is a prerogative of the Head of State and Chief Executive, the President. These powers are rested in the Presidency by section 16 of the Constitution of Kenya, Amendment Act No. 28 and in Section 23 of the Constitution. Consequently, the Chief Executive is the initiator, articulator and director of foreign policy.

Kenya’s foreign policy has, since independence been designed and guided by the following basic and universally recognized norms:

  • Respect for sovereignty and territorial integrity of other states and preservation of national security.
  • Good neighbourliness and peaceful co-existence.
  • Peaceful settlement of disputes
  • Non-interference in the internal affairs of other states
  • Non-alignment and national self-interest
  • Adherence to the Charters of the UN and OAU/AU

Dr. Alfred N. Mutua, EGH


For more information on the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Kenya’s Foreign Policy, see

Main Functions

  • Foreign Policy
  • Joint Commissions with other Countries
  • International and Regional Organizations
  • Kenya Embassies Abroad
  • Foreign Missions in Kenya
  • Treaties, Conventions and Agreements
  • Diplomatic Privileges and Immunities
  • State and Official Visits
  • Protocol Matters
  • Consular Matters
  • Peace Initiatives
  • East African Community
  • Inter-Governmental Authority on Development

Contact Information

Old Treasury Building
Harambee Avenue
P.O. Box 30551-00100
Nairobi, Kenya
Tel: +254 (20) 338111/318604
Fax: +254 (20) 341935/240066